Bli medlem
Bli medlem

Du är här

2015-03-30

Bombardier Transportation: Bombardier Wins Ten-Year Fleet Maintenance Contract for the UK's Essex Thameside Franchise

- Contract covers maintenance on 74 BOMBARDIER ELECTROSTAR trains

- Arrangement confirms Bombardier's position as leading service and
maintenance provider

BERLIN, GERMANY--(Marketwired - Mar 30, 2015) -

Editors' Note: There is a photo associated with this press release.

Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation has signed a contract with
National Express Group to provide maintenance for the new Essex Thameside
franchise. This new franchise was recently awarded to National Express Group
by the UK's Department for Transport (DfT). The contract, which is for a
ten-year period with the option to extend another 5 years, covers maintenance
and spare parts on 74 four-car Class 357ELECTROSTAR
trains and is valued at approximately £143 million GBP (196 million euro, $213
million US).

Andrew Chivers, Managing Director Rail, National Express Group, said,
"Bombardier Transportation is fully aligned in terms of driving improved
fleet performance in support of National Express' commitment to deliver
excellent levels of service to its customers".

Bombardier Transportation's approach to this new maintenance contract includes
a number of initiatives designed to provide effective support and improve
fleet performance. Aligned with National Express Group's franchise
performance and operational commitments, the new contract contains an
incentivised performance regime and incorporates Bombardier's Automatic
Vehicle Inspection System (AVI System).

Already in use at Bombardier's Central Rivers (UK) and Gautrain Rail (South
Africa) service depots, the AVI System is an integrated technology that uses
a range of cameras and sensors to analyse and monitor a vehicle's condition.
Housed in a dedicated structure around and under the tracks, the AVI System
helps operators lower costs by reducing component usage and maintenance
interventions while increasing asset utilisation. This innovative system can
also automatically generate maintenance work orders, provide advanced
notification of component wear and even trigger safety alerts - all without
the intervention of inspection technicians.

Per Allmer, President, Western Europe, Middle East and Africa, Bombardier
Transportation, said, "We're pleased to have been awarded this key
maintenance contract, which offers an innovative approach that includes the
introduction of our Automatic Vehicle Inspection System. Together with
control-room technicians, the AVI System will enhance National Express' fleet
performance and support their franchise commitments."
With a strong fleet service track record in the UK, Bombardier Transportation
already maintains fleets for National Express Group, East Midlands Trains as
well as for Cross Country's Voyager fleet, for which Bombardier has won a
prestigious UK rail industry award, five years in a row, in recognition of
the Voyager fleet's reliability performance.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the
broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and
services that set new standards in sustainable mobility.BOMBARDIER ECO4
technologies - built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy,
and ecology - conserve energy, protect the environment, and help to improve
total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier
Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse
customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an
installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world's largest manufacturer of both planes and trains.
Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility
worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable, and
enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all,
our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the
Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones
Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended
December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information
are available atwww.bombardier.comor follow us on Twitter@Bombardier.

Note to Editors

For news releases, related material and photos, visit our media centre
atwww.bombardier.com/en/media-centre.html. Follow Bombardier Transportation
on Twitter@BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit theRSS
Feedsection.

BOMBARDIER, ELECTROSTAR, ECO 4
andThe Evolution of Mobility
are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

FOR INFORMATION

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
| Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111 |
| Loulou Hammad,loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| Austria: +43 1 2511 0760 |
| Karin Schwarz,karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687 |
| Janet Olthof,janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794 |
| Ana Caiasso,ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| Canada: +1 450 441 3007 |
| Marc-André Lefebvre,marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| China: +86 10 8517 2268 |
| Flora Long,flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38 |
| Anne Froger,anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel: +49 30 98607 1134 |
| Immo von Fallois,immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093 |
| Harsh Mehta,harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| Italy: +39 34 6504 5310 |
| Paola Biondi,paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714 |
| Paulina Ortega,paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| Middle East: +44 1332 266031 |
| Emma Brett,emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213 |
| Pär Isaksson,paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22 |
| Maciej Kaczanowski,maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| South East Asia: +65 6478 6235 |
| Evon Lam,evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617 |
| Sandy Roth,sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238 |
| James Rollin,james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com |
| |
| USA: +1 450 441 3007 |
| Maryanne Roberts,maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com |
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the
following link:http://www.marketwire.com/library/20150330-BOMB800g.jpg

Contact Information

Bombardier Transportation
www.bombardier.com

---------------------------------------

This announcement is distributed by NASDAQ OMX Corporate Solutions on behalf of NASDAQ OMX Corporate Solutions clients.
The issuer of this announcement warrants that they are solely responsible for the content, accuracy and originality of the information contained therein.
Source: Bombardier Transportation via Globenewswire

HUG#1907587

Författare Hugin

Tala om vad ni tycker

Tala om vad ni tycker

Ni är just nu inne på en betaversion av nya aktiespararna. Lämna gärna feedback på vad ni tycker i formuläret nedan.